Thoughts and reviews on Korean Makeup!

IMG_6817

edit: (When I refer to Korea in this post I will be referring to South Korea)

Hello!

I did a post about Essence makeup where I reviewed the products that I got from Essence when I was in Korea, but I realised I didn’t actually do a review about the makeup I got from Korea itself! So I picked out a few products out from all the makeup I got from Korea to review about it. Unfortunately, I cannot remember the prices of the products anymore, and also some of these products can only be purchased in Korea. I picked out products that I love and also one or two that I feel indifferent towards. Continue on reading to see the products that I picked out or just skip to the conclusion where I will summarise all the products and give an overall review on Korean beauty products in general!

IMG_6805

Berry Berry Tea BB cream/foundation- SKINFOOD

The area that my hotel was at in Korea was full of SKINFOOD stores, which wasn’t bad because I LOVED browsing the SKINFOOD stores. They smell really really good because everything is made out of natural ingredients that smell amazing. They have a lot of products made of food products such as honey, rice etc. Also, because all their products are made out of food products, they’re all really interesting to look at! My favourite thing about this product is the smell of it! As weird as it sounds the smell of this BB cream is amazing, and it smells exactly as you would think Berry Tea smells like! It feels great placing something on your face that smells amazing, and although sometimes scented products may be harmful, this product did not make me breakout at all!

IMG_6806

Besides that, this product is also pretty lightweight, and really great for days where you just want simple makeup! This product also has SPF, like every other Korean makeup, which is great for multi-use! On a whole, I really love this product, however, I had to stop using this product as I got much tanner from my vacation and the shade does not match anymore!

IMG_6795

Creamy tint + color balm- Mamonde

I apologise as I don’t really know the exact names of these products as most of them are in Korean. I got this product from Watsons (drugstore). I wanted to get a really bright pink shade to add to my lipstick collection and when I saw that this product was both a lipstick and a lip balm, the lazy girl in me had to get it. I loved the colour of the product when I tried in on at the drugstore, but unfortunately, this product did not meet my expectation a few days after. I wore it while I was in Korea, and it did not stay on for long, and created a really weird rough texture on my lips that I did not like at all! Unfortunately, I do not use this product any longer.

IMG_6798

IMG_6800

Allantoin Clear Mascara- SKINFOOD

Coming back to SKINFOOD because it was my favourite store. Also, SKINFOOD’s makeup wasn’t that expensive, which was really cool! I got this clear mascara for days where I’m really lazy and I just want my eyebrows to look a little more tame. It says clear mascara but I used it more for my eyebrows as when I used it on my eyelashes, the formula seemed to flake a lot and irritated my eyes a little, so I stopped using that as a mascara. I still use this product to this day and I really like it!

IMG_6803

IMG_6808

Color My Eyebrow- The Face Shop

Last but not least, this product is my favourite product out of all of the products that I picked out, and I use it nearly on an everyday basis! What I love about this product is that it is so simple to use and it is pretty long lasting! I got this in the shade 04-Natural Grey, and it is a really good shade for people with black hair as it is not as harsh as black. A negative about this product would probably be that the applicator isn’t the most amazing applicator you would come across. Unlike gimme brow by Benefit Cosmetics (which has a cone-shaped applicator), this brow gel adopted a square/rectangular shaped applicator that I find doesn’t get an equal amount of product on all the bristles.

IMG_6810

Besides that, I still absolutely love this product, and as this product can be found in my home country, the price of this product is only approximately $7 USD, which I think is really affordable for someone that wants to try out an eyebrow gel!

Overview

Korea is really a centre for all things beauty, and if you love beauty and all that, Korea is definitely a place to go, as if you walk down the shopping districts you will definitely come across a lot of different makeup and beauty stores and sometimes even freebies to take! I love the products that I bought and they all came across to me as what Korean makeup is like — Bright, good for your skin, generally affordable and really good to use! One downside is that a lot of the makeup in Korea is made for fair-skinned Koreans so the shades, especially for the foundations tend to be very limiting, and it is very hard for people with darker skin tones to find shades that really suit them! Other then that, all the other kinds of products (blush, lipstick etc.) has a generally really good variety and I’m definitely a fan Korean beauty products!

//

Thanks for reading my really long post!

Hope you enjoyed and leave a comment if you feel like it!

3 thoughts on “Thoughts and reviews on Korean Makeup!

  1. I tried a few Korean makeup things and loved them! Love this post. Would love if you could check out my latest post too xxx

    Like

Leave a comment